The INCUBA Award honours local startups and investors

The INCUBA Award is an initiative created to honour the investors and startups leading the way and inspiring others with their efforts in the startup ecosystem in Central Jutland.

The award recognises startups and investors who produce significant results and contribute to pushing the local ecosystem forward.

It shines a spotlight on success, ambition, courage, innovation and those who go the extra mile for their business or investment.

The INCUBA Award is created, funded and run by INCUBA. It was awarded for the first time in 2021.

The INCUBA Award is presented in two categories: Startup of the Year & Investor of the Year.

In addition to the honour, the winners receive a predetermined travel grant worth DKK 35,000 to one of the world’s great innovation meccas in late summer 2025.

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced at the Aarhus Investor Summit, which takes place on 3 October 2024 at Aarhus City Hall.

Kvantify & Claus Hansen: 'A great honor'

Quantum startup Kvantify and business angel Claus Hansen received the INCUBA award in the categories 'Startup of the Year' and 'Investor of the Year' at the annual Aarhus Investor Summit on Thursday, October 5 at Aarhus City Hall.

Hear what investor of the year, Claus Hansen, and startup of the year, Nikolaj Zinner from Quantify, said upon receiving the award and see their immediate reactions.

Watch the video to the right.


Startup of the year


  • Kvantify

Investor of the year


Claus Hansen

Winners and nominees for the INCUBA Award 2022 and 2021

Winners 2022

Startup of the year: NMD Pharma

Other nominees: Sepior and RE-ZIP

Investor of the Year: Bo Wase

Other nominees: Claus Hansen and Mikkel Ploug

Winners 2021

Startup of the Year: Ento Labs

Other nominees: Bright Star Studios and Draupnir Bio

Investor of the Year: Poul Carstensen

Other nominees: Bo Wase and Founderment

How are the winners chosen?

Until the nomination deadline, everyone has the opportunity to nominate candidates for the INCUBA Award. This includes companies, universities, TTO organisations, industry organisations and other actors from the ecosystem who wish to nominate potential candidates. Self-nominations are also allowed.

The nominated candidates are assessed by a competent jury composed of actors from the Aarhus startup ecosystem.

The jury reviews all nominees to ensure that they fulfil the criteria to be nominated for the award.

The criteria within each category are described below. If the nominees fulfil the criteria, they can be nominated for the award.

The jury then narrows the field of nominees down to three finalists in each category. After a more thorough review of the finalists, the jury selects one winner in each category. The finalists are invited to attend the Aarhus Investor Summit, where the winner is announced.

Criteria for Startup of the Year and Investor of the Year

Startup of the Year

Assessment criteria:

  • The team behind the startup demonstrates drive and scalable ambitions
  • The startup is characterised by inventiveness and innovation
  • The startup has global (business) potential
  • The startup/founder(s) is an inspiration to other startups
  • The company has already achieved remarkable results

Nominate the Startup of the Year

Investor of the Year

Assessment criteria:

  • The investor has made significant new investments within the last 12 months
  • The investor has increased new funding rounds in existing portfolio companies or achieved one or more successful exits within the last 12 months
  • The investor is an asset to the ecosystem of Central Jutland and a source of inspiration to other investors
  • With their experience and network, the investor is a dedicated mentor/supporter who contributes to the development and growth of their portfolio companies

Nominate the Investor of the Year

The jury that selects the winners consists of:

  • Jakob Vangsøe Hansen, Business Director, Danske Bank
  • Benjamin Hoffmann, Partner, Potter Clarkson
  • Lars Louring, Investor Relations Manager, Danish Business Angels
  • Mai Louise Agerskov, CEO, INCUBA
  • Søren Boel Pedersen, Manager, Business Aarhus, City of Aarhus 
  • Søren Grønbæk Nielsen, Business Development Manager, EIFO
  • Jan Snogdal, Partner, DLA Piper

Recognising my commitment

Winning the investor award is first and foremost a recognition of my commitment to the local investor community in Aarhus. For many years, I have worked pro bono with many of the local founders based on the principle of being a 'midwife' to new and exciting companies. I see this award as a recognition of what I, together with the founders and the local ecosystem, create for the city.

- Bo Wase, Business Angel, winner of the INCUBA Award 2022

Grateful and proud

We are grateful and proud to have been awarded the INCUBA Award 2022. It's an important recognition of NMD Pharma's work and reflects the growth of the life science and biotech industry in Aarhus more generally.

- Thomas Holm Pedersen, CEO & founder, NMD Pharma A/S, winner of the INCUBA Award 2022

Call or write us to learn more about the INCUBA Award.

Jacob Mogensen

Director of Acceleration & Investor Relations