The INCUBA award is an initiative to honour those investors and startups who lead the way and inspire others with their efforts in the Central Jutland startup ecosystem.

The award highlights startups and investors that deliver significant results and contribute significantly to pushing the local ecosystem forward. It shines a spotlight on success, ambition, courage, innovation and those who go the extra mile for their business or investment.

The INCUBA Award is established, funded and organised by INCUBA. It was awarded for the first time in 2021.

Investor and Startup of the Year

The INCUBA award is presented in two categories: Startup of the Year & Investor of the Year

In addition to the honour, the winners receive a pre-destined travel grant worth DKK 35.000 to one of the world's great innovation meccas in late summer 2023.

The winners of this year's awards will be announced at the Aarhus Investor Summit, which will took place on 6 October 2022 at Aarhus City Hall.

This year's winners 2022

Startup of the Year: NMD Pharma

Other nominees: Sepior and RE-ZIP

Investor of the Year: Bo Wase

Other nominees: Claus Hansen and Mikkel Ploug

Winners in 2021

Startup of the Year: Ento Labs

Other nominees: Bright Star Studios and Draupnir Bio

Investor of the Year: Poul Carstensen

Other nominees: Bo Wase and Founderment

Read more about the winners and the award ceremony

How are the winners chosen?

Up to the nomination deadline, everyone has the opportunity to nominate candidates for the INCUBA Award. This includes companies, universities, TTO organisations, industry associations and other stakeholders from the ecosystem who wish to nominate potential candidates. It is also allowed to nominate yourself.

The nominated candidates will be assessed by a competent jury consisting of people from the Aarhus startup ecosystem. The jury reviews all nominees to ensure that they meet the criteria to be nominated for the award. The criteria within each category are described below. If the nominees meet the criteria, they can be nominated for the award.

The jury will then narrow down the field of nominees to three finalists in each category. After a more thorough review of the finalists, the jury will select one winner in each category. The finalists will be invited to attend the Aarhus Investor Summit, where the winner will be announced.

Criteria for Startup of the Year and Investor of the Year

Startup of the Year

Evaluation criteria:

  • The team behind the startup demonstrates action and scalable ambition
  • The startup is characterised by resourcefulness and innovation
  • The startup has global (business) potential
  • The startup/founder(s) are an inspiration to other startups
  • The company has already achieved remarkable results

Nominate startup

Investor of the Year

Evaluation criteria:

  • The investor has made significant new investments in the last 12 months
  • The investor has raised new rounds of investment in existing portfolio companies or achieved one or more successful exits in the past 12 months
  • The investor is an asset to the Central Jutland ecosystem and acts as an inspiration to other investors
  • The investor is a dedicated mentor/supporter with his experience and network, contributing to the development and growth of his portfolio companies

Nominate investor

Jury members

The jury that selects the winners of the INCUBA Award consists of:

  • Poul Nielsen, Regional Director, Danske Bank
  • Benjamin Hoffmann, Partner, Potter Clarkson
  • Lars Louring, Investor Relations Manager, Danish Business Angels
  • Mai Louise Agerskov, Managing Director, INCUBA
  • Søren Boel Pedersen, Manager, Business Aarhus, Aarhus Municipality
  • Søren Grønbæk Nielsen, Business Development Manager, Vækstfonden
  • Jan Snogdal, Partner, DLA Piper
  • Anette Poulsen Miltoft, Function Head, AU Research - Technology Transfer Office

If you are interested in finding out more about office space and your opportunities in INCUBA, then please call or write us.

+45 2250